WoW Burnout or Sleep Deprivation?

So yesterday I logged on to just mess around and maybe finish up some of those “Champion of the Naaru” quests that I still have. I don’t really need the title, but I’d like to do it just because it’s something to accomplish. Well… I doubt it’ll happen with the patch so close, but that’s beside the point. I logged on after running for 3 days straight with somewhere around 2 hours of sleep a night. I didn’t feel quite “tired” per se, just a little weary and aware that I would need to go to bed at a reasonable time. Then I get a whisper from a guildie, “ZA?”. Now normally I would jump at this oppurtunity. ZAis not only one of my favorite dungeons but we came so close to Bear Mounty goodness last time that I knew we could get it this time. But…. As soon as someone whispered me, I just felt like I got hit by a truck. Literally. Picture sitting at your computer enjoying yourself when for no good reason, you get crotch-punched by your modem and the ceiling falls on your head. That’s about how I felt. Head-achy, tired, sore, and a little constipated (OK, that’s exaggerating a bit). So I let them know, I was too tired tonight and that I didn’t think I could do it. Now… Why the hell would I feel fine one moment and feel like shit the next? It was like the whisper for ZA was a Pavlovian trigger to go to sleep (for those of you that don’t know what Pavlovian means, think dogs, bells, and look up Pavlov. Still don’t know? Too bad, I’m continuing.) But what worries me about that is this: Is it just me being tired or is it that I was so averse to raiding another night (WoW Burnout) that my brain told my body to put on the brakes?

1 Comment »

  1. I have been in this spot a lot lately… even when I am only logging on to do a specific raid/instance… as soon as I get the invite, I hit the wall…

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

